Tea anyone ?

Standard
Tea anyone ?

In addition to drinking a lot of water and I do mean a lot…not just my regularly planned 8 glasses…no I try to drink if not a gallon of water daily (yes, from the time my feet it the floor until I go to bed at night)…a full 8-12 hours to consume a gallon…128 ounces, or if I don’t feel like lugging my gallon container around all day I’ll drink 1/2 my body weight in ounces of water which is currently 77 ounces…that’s (2) of my 32 oz containers and then (1) 16 oz bottle. With as active as I am…exercising in a class 3 times a week in a Circuit Training/Cross-fit class,  and running 2 days a week…so exercising 5 days a week…drinking all that much water really isn’t bad.

But…when I get tired of drinking water, I love drinking tea of all kinds. My favorite tea is  Bigelow Green Tea with Jasmine or Salada Green Tea with Citrus Medley. I can absolutely drink either of these tea’s hot or cold…day or night. The Bigelow  Green Tea with Jasmine is  lightly infused with the delicate aroma of Jasmine flowers.  The Salada Green Tea with Citrus, is an original Antioxidant Decaffeinated Herbal Blend of Eleuthero root, antioxidants C (60mg) and E (5mg) plus vitamin A carefully infused with natural orange, lemon and lime flavors create a powerful blend of taste and “strength”.

They’re both  quite calming, and I opt to drink mine either with no sugar, with added lemon or lime, and if iced I’ll make it at home to accommodate the ‘sweet needs’ of my friends and family by adding a tad of clover honey.

Here are a few of the benefits of drinking tea and green tea in particular…

Green Tea

According to WebMD:

  • Green tea: Made with steamed tea leaves, it has a high concentration of EGCG and has been widely studied. Green tea’s antioxidants may interfere with the growth of bladder, breast, lung, stomach, pancreatic, and colorectal cancers; prevent clogging of the arteries, burn fat, counteract oxidative stress on the brain, reduce risk of neurological disorders like Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases, reduce risk of stroke, and improve cholesterol levels.

Got a lot going on in your life…try these teas.

Types of tea

Feeling a little ‘under the weather’ think you’re coming down with something…try these teas:

  • Chamomile tea: Its antioxidants may help prevent complications from diabetes, like loss of vision and nerve and kidney damage, and stunt the growth of cancer cells.
  • Echinacea: Often touted as a way to fight the common cold, the research on echinacea has been inconclusive.
  • Hibiscus: A small study found that drinking three cups of hibiscus tea daily loweredblood pressure in people with modestly elevated levels.
  • Rooibos (red tea): A South African herb that is fermented. Although it has flavonoids with cancer-fighting properties, medical studies have been limited.

Here are some other types of tea one can consume if they’re running into any kind of difficulty 🙂

Need help tea

For those wanting to kickback over the summer months and enjoy a relaxing cup of Sweet Tea, generally speaking Black Tea is used. Here are a few facts:

  • Black tea: Made with fermented tea leaves, black tea has the highest caffeine content and forms the basis for flavored teas like chai, along with some instant teas. Studies have shown that black tea may protect lungs from damage caused by exposure to cigarette smoke. It also may reduce the risk of stroke

So now what…you’ve bought all this tea and need to know what to do with it right ? If you’re like me you’ve got canisters, plastic baggies, loose tea and tea bags in a Ziploc freezer bag or in an airtight see through glass container…I have both. With that being said, you got all his tea…now you need to figure out how to brew it. Well…here’s a little advice I stumbled upon…

How long to steep

If I ever just want to completely chill out, my go to is the Marley Mellow Mood Tea. I came across this at a Caribbean restaurant and absolutely loved it, the Iced Green Tea is light and is reported to aid in relaxation and help give you the clarity of mind to find your inner calm and be full present in the moment. I can drink this tea while I’m meditating or just relaxing with friends. It is a soothing, decaffeinated green tea brewed with a touch of all natural orange blossom honey.

tumblr_loxhada8oa1qg4uwqo1_500

Its made with all natural ingredients, and is part of their relaxation signature blend

  • Decaffeinated Green Tea
  • Orange Blossom Honey
  • Pure Cane Sugar
  • Triple Filtered Water

The blend includes:

  • Chamomile and Passion Flower which reduces anxiety
  • Hops extract which promotes relaxation
  • Lemon balm which enhances mood, alertness and calmness
  • Valerian Root which promotes relaxation without drowsiness.

Last but certainly not least, if there is the occasional digestive or constipation problem I’d like to suggest my go to…Smooth Move. I stumbled upon this tea when I was very sick and hadn’t used the restroom in a few days (3 or so). I like the Traditional Medicinal brand, but any brand of Senna tea can be used. You have to be careful to use it in moderation. According to the Traditional Medicinal website, ‘Just about everyone experiences constipation occasionally—uncomfortable, embarrassing and a real damper on life. For gentle, overnight relief, we love our senna-based herbal tea.* Used for thousands of years to get your “movement” moving again, senna works by gently stimulating your intestines and aiding your body’s natural elimination process.* Traditionally combined with fennel, coriander and ginger to reduce the potential for unpleasant feelings like cramping,* Smooth Move® is best taken at bedtime. Sip and sleep easy knowing you’ll be right as rain in the morning.”

Smooth Move tea

Because Smooth Move has Sweet and slightly bitter, with citrus-orange and spice notes, I like to make mine with a slice of lemon or lime, absolutely no sugar or sugar additive of any kind or I’ll make the Smooth Move with Peppermint   and its best to steep for 10-15 minutes with a covered top.

product3_laxative_SmoothMovePeppermint_CAN.01_RF-567x856

I hope the aforementioned will help you on your tea choices and mellow you out.

Be Blessed

<3JayTheFoodie

 

Leave a Reply

