GG’s famous Banana Walnut cake with Cream Cheese Icing #YummyGoodness

Standard
GG’s famous Banana Walnut cake with Cream Cheese Icing #YummyGoodness

A couple of months back my friend brought to work a cake. Now I’m not a big dessert eater, since I’m always trying to watch my waistline, but some things I will try…if my arm is twisted 🙂 With that being said I do indulge every so often, and since we’ve entered the holiday season I figured…why not. When I tasted this cake I just HAD to know how to make it. Thus, I begged my friend over the Thanksgiving break to share with me her recipe if she wouldn’t mind. Being the kind person and the chef that she is…she kindly obliged.

Without further ado…I present to you GG’s famous Banana Walnut cake with cream cheese icing.

Ingredients*
*Note: We doubled the ingredients because we ended up making 2 cakes.
Banana Walnut cake ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1-1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs (4 are shown)
  • 1 cup (8 ounces) sour cream (2 are shown)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup of chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 medium ripe bananas, mashed (about 1 cup)
  • FROSTING-
  • 1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened (2 are shown)
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3-3/4 to 4 cups confectioners’ sugar

Step 1: Preheat oven to 350°/ In a large bowl, mix 1-1/2 cups sugar, 2 eggs  and 1/2 cup softened cup butter to mixing bowl.

Step 2: Add(1) 8oz container of sour cream butter to mixing bowl and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and mix until light and fluffy.

5 6 7

Step 3: Add flour, baking soda and salt; gradually add to creamed mixture. Stir in bananas  and walnuts (bananas not pictured)

13

14

Step 4: Spread into a greased 15 x 10 x1-in. baking pan and coat with flour to allow cake not to stick and shake out the rest. Bake 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean (do not overbake). 

19Step 5: Now…on to the icing !! In a large bowl, beat cream cheese, butter and vanilla until fluffy. Gradually beat in enough confectioners’ sugar to achieve desired consistency.

20

32 35

Step 6: Once cake has cooled from the oven spread icing and allow to sit. Then serve and enjoy !

icingfinal product

Bon Appetite !
❤ JayTheFoodie

Leave a Reply

