Brown sugar & BBQ slow cooked ribs

Standard

Last week I tried my hand at something I thought would be quite tasty. I thought of ribs. Not just any ribs, but when I’ve had ribs from dry rubbed to slathered in BBQ sauce, to oven baked to grilled either on propane or w/ wrapped in foil over scorching hot coals…I love the fact that ribs can be cooked in entirely different ways.

I’ve always loved a vinegar base w/ my BBQ sauce. Brown sugar as well….honey not so much but I love a sweet heat. In my test meal last week I made ribs…my way. I knew I wanted ribs, didn’t have a grill & not to mention the time. So yes on a week night, yours truly made ribs….the slow cooker way. Check me out.

Jay’s Brown Sugar & BBQ slow cooked ribs

4 onions sliced

1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar

1/2 bottle of Brown sugar BBQ sauce or any kind of BBQ sauce (preferably w/ a sweet heat base)

Sea salt

Cracked Pepper

1/4 cup of light, dark or Turbinado sugar (You can also use sugar in the raw)

  
Step 1: Slice your onions. Key to not crying while cutting your onion is to wear onion goggles (if you have them) or chew gum. Unfortunately during this process…I had neither 😒.  

Step 2: Take your ribs, clean them well & season them either side with salt and pepper. 

 Step 3: Line your ribs in the bottom of your crock pot.

  

Step 4: Place your ribs on top of your onions.  

Step 5: Pour your 1/4 cup of brown sugar in a large cup & add your 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar & your 1/2  bottle of BBQ sauce.  

Step 6: Slowly pour your sauce over your ribs and mix in with your onions.

  
 Step 7: Set your crock pot on low and allow to cook for 8 hours. Check your ribs if you can to be sure they don’t burn. If your home, stir and add a cup of water if need be.  

 Step 8: After your ribs and cooked thoroughly check them and stir them well. From there you’re ready to serve and eat. I made mine with creamed spinach and cauliflower.  

  
Bon Appetie !

❤️JayTheFoodie

Leave a Reply

