Jay’s 3 Cheese Macaroni

Standard
Jay’s 3 Cheese Macaroni

This past Monday was my brother’s 26th birthday and I’m thoroughly convinced that by being a foodie that cooking is my love language. I cook with so much passion. I was half way through cooking dinner like is he EVER coming home ?!?!?! As if cooking for my own happiness wasn’t enough. I dunno if my brother lies to me about my food or if he really loves it.

Anyway I prepared a wonderful home cooked meal for him complete with lemon basil baked chicken, smoked turkey collard greens, and macaroni & cheese. I had never prepared it before and I’m always willing to try my hand at something new. It was much easier that I thought it would be and remember I don’t generally follow a recipe. I can watch something on tv or vaguely remember how my mom has prepared something and then almost either duplicate it or try my own spin on it.

So take a look at my very first try at making mac & cheese and according to my brother…he was speechless. Which is a good thing 🙂

Jay’s 3 cheese Macaroni-

Ingredients 

  
1 egg

3/4 cups of milk

1 box of macaroni (We had gluten free noodles, so that’s what I used)

Salt

Pepper

A pinch of sugar

3/4 stick of butter

Cayenne pepper

1 bag of Colby & Monteray Jack cheese

3 packages of cheeses of your choice (I like a sharp cheddar, Colby & Monteray)

Step 1: Boil a pot of water for your noodles & preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

 
Step 2: Butter up a casarole dish, this will ensure your meal isn’t stuck to the sides when time for cleaning and adds to the yummy goodness as well.

 
Step 3: Chop up your cheese off the block into bite sized pieces. 

 
Step 4: Add your box of noodles to the boiling water and allow to cook until al dente (:5-:7)  

Step 5: Pour your milk into a sauce pan adding your egg, salt, pepper & a dash of sugar. 

    
 
Step 6: Add your bag of cheese under a slow heat and stir well add your butter as well.

  
    
    
  

Step 7: Once you have allowed your cheese sauce to melt into a smooth velvety consistency you’re ready to pour it over your noodles.

 

Sorry…I was having a difficult time rotating the pictures😔.

Step 7:  Strain your noodles. 

 
Step 8: Once you’ve strained your noodles, pour in your cheese sauce folding the sauce in with a large spoon and add your cheese chunks.

  
   
Step 9: A few more steps and you’re almost there ! Now you’re ready to place your dish in your heated oven. Now I cooked my Mac & cheese for about :55 minutes and constantly monitored it and for the last :5 I put it in the broiler to allow the cheese to melt just right. You don’t have to place a top on it…matter of fact my mom didn’t recommend it. She suggested I remove the Mac & cheese from the oven. Line a cookie sheet with foil and place it back in. This way you avoid having to clean up a sticky cheesy mess in your oven. Shout out to you mom…thx for the advice woe 😘.

  
(Recipe for lemon basil baked chicken will appear in a separate post 😄)

   
Step 9: Don’t do like I did and stick your fork in & go for it. You MUST allow your dish to cool or you will not have a tongue to even enjoy it ! Once you’ve allowed your dish to cool, serve & literally let it speak for itself !  

❤️ JayTheFoodie

Bon Appetite 

Leave a Reply

