Oxtail stew

Standard

I’m a big fan of Caribbean inspired foods…you can see this from my curry chicken recipe a few months back. Over the weekend I decided to try my hand at making oxtail stew. I had never made it before but it is one of my most favorite meals to eat 🙂

I called almost every person I knew of Caribbean descent trying to find out exactly what ingredients I needed…I even looked online & finally decided…I’m going to try my hand at it anyway & I believe it turned out quite well.
Jay’s oxtail stew

Ingredients-
2 lbs of oxtails
5 or 6 large carrots
3 onions chopped
5 white potatoes cut into quarters
1 cup of water
1/2 a clove of garlic chopped
1/2 a bag of Butter beans (You can also used 1 can of butter beans or 1/2 a bag of large Lima beans)
Salt
Parsley
1 large can of diced tomatoes
Red cooking wine
Worcestershire sauce
Pepper
2 scotch bonnet peppers finely chopped
Grace’s browning sauce
Grace’s Scotch Bonnet pepper sauce
Grace’s oxtail seasoning
Garlic powder
Onion powder
Minced garlic

IMG_0542-1

IMG_0541-1

Step 1: Chop your scotch bonnet peppers finely and set them aside.

IMG_0544-0

Step 2: Clean your oxtails well & season them with minced garlic, cracked pepper, sea salt & oxtail seasoning.

IMG_0545

IMG_0543

Step 3: Pour oil in a frying pan on medium heat. Add your oxtail to your frying pan and 2 tablespoons of browning sauce.

IMG_0546

IMG_0547

IMG_0548

Step 4: Allow your meat to brown and set it aside. Cut up your potatoes, onions, carrots & garlic.

IMG_0550

IMG_0551

IMG_0552

IMG_0554

IMG_0553

Step 5: The remnants from your oxtail…add a little red cooking wine, Worcestershire sauce & water.

IMG_0555

Step 6: Place your veggies in a large freezer bag, pour your frying pan contents over your oxtail in a container & put it in the fridge to marinate overnight.

IMG_0556

Step 7: Next day, add your veggies to your crock pot, add your butter beans, then add your meat to your crock pot & mix it well.

IMG_0579-0

IMG_0578-0

IMG_0576-0

IMG_0581-0

Step 8: Add 1 cup of water to your crock pot.

IMG_0577

Step 9: Mix ingredients well on the ‘ high’ setting, and lock & load your crock pot. I prepped my meal to cook for about 8 hours while I was at work.

IMG_0580

IMG_0583

Step 10: Once you’ve allowed your meal to cook, taste. When I tasted mine it was still very spicy from the scotch peppers added, so I opted to add a can of diced tomatoes & 1/2 a can of water.

IMG_0584

IMG_0582

Step 11: From here I allowed my meal to cook well on ‘high’ for another :30. After :30 I taste tested again & it was ready to eat. I then spooned some into a bowl, topped with parsley, salt, pepper & a few dashes of Scotch bonnet peppers.

IMG_0585

IMG_0586

Bon Appetite !
❤️JayTheFoodie

Leave a Reply

