Leftover Takeover !!!!

Standard
Leftover Takeover !!!!

Have any of you ever thought…‘I am so hungry, I don’t have anything to eat…but leftovers and I don’t want them !!’ But then thought…‘Wait, I do have leftovers I’ll make something great !’ I decided I wanted to make stuffed shells and I didn’t really know what I was going to put in them. I then thought…hey how about a ‘Leftover Takeover’ !?!?!?

I saw a post on Instagram last week where a young lady made stuffed shells and they looked delish. Her ingredients didn’t seem terribly complex and I had most of them already at home…except the shells. So, I went to the store grabbed a box of shells and decided to make my own magic.

So, here it is ‘Jay’s Leftover Takeover: Stuffed Shells’

Ingredients-

1 box of jumbo pasta shells

1 bag of Fat Free Mozzarella cheese

1/2 a container of spaghetti sauce

1 container or a zip-lock bag of spaghetti sauce (my sauce is made of ground turkey, fresh minced garlic, mushrooms, bell peppers, fresh basil, fresh thyme and a few dashes of smoked paprika) 

1 bag of frozen spinach

Ingredients

Step 1: Bring a large pot of water to boil with a pinch of salt.

 Boil a large pot of water with a dash of salt

Step 2: Put shells in boiling water and allow to cook until al dente…not mushy.

Shells in water

Step 3: Once you’ve allowed your shells to cook, place them in a colander and run them under cold water, so they’re no longer hot the touch.

Blanched shells

Step 4: Take out your spaghetti sauce (that you had in a container or plastic bag) and put it in a frying pan with the frozen spinach and allow to saute until cooked well.

Ground turkey with frozen spinach

Step 5: I had a half a jar of spaghetti sauce in the fridge and I used it to pour in a small pyrex container.

                                Add your jar of tomato sauce Pour your sauce in your pirex container

Step 6:  Spoon turkey and spinach into shells and then place shells into container with sauce.

Spoon turkey and spinach in shells

Step 7: Preheat oven to 350 and allow to cook for at least :15-:20, then add your cheese.

Place pan in oven at 15-20 minutes with cheese

Step 8: Voila…magic 🙂

After (2)

Step 9: Serve and enjoy !

Finished product

#BonAppetite

#<3JayTheFoodie

Leave a Reply

