Turn up the heat with Turkey Chili !!!!!!

Standard
Turn up the heat with Turkey Chili !!!!!!

This is going to be an easy peasy post…I tried my hand at turkey chili and I didn’t do half bad….if I do say so myself (not to mention my colleagues like theirs too 🙂 )I’ve never been a big chili fan even growing up and I really only started eating it probably like within the past 6 months.

I read a few recipes and decided to come up with my very own which truly was a hit. Note, I never use a specific recipe or real measurements…I make things the way I believe they’re to taste and then add my flair.

So…enjoy ❤

Jay’s first time Turkey Chili

Ingredients-

Ingredients

1 container of ground turkey

1/2 of one onion diced

3 bell peppers minced (1 red, 1 orange 1 yellow)

1/2 a jalapeno diced

1 can of black beans

2 large cans of diced tomatoes

1 can of kidney beans

2 ears of corn (yellow or white) cooked well, blanched, and cut off the cob.

1/2 a clove of garlic minced

A few dashes of cracked pepper, sea salt and Tabasco sauce (of course)

Brown your ground turkey with 2 tablespoons of olive oil

Step 1: Brown your ground turkey well. I actually browned my meat in about 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and I added Worcester sauce for a little color. For taste I added a few dashes of salt and pepper.

Once browned well add to a large pot

Step 2: Once you’re done browning your meat and its seasoned well add it to a large pot.

Dice 3 whole bell peppers  add your bell peppers to your ground turkey

Step 3: Add your diced bell peppers.

add your but corn to your pot mixture

Step 4: Add your corn. Corn is always optional. I actually had a few ears of corn in my freezer I wanted to use, so I decided to boil them, then let them cool (I blanched them in ice water) and then cut the kernels off the cob and placed them in a container. From there I let them cool and added them to my pot.

diced half of one jalepeno             dice half an onion

minced garlic

Step 5: Add your onion, jalapenos, and garlic.

add your diced tomatoes diced tomatoes (2)

Step 6: Add your diced tomatoes.

stir well (2)

 Step 7: Stir well and allow flavors to simmer…for about :15-:20 minutes.

Add your cumin (1)            Smoked Paprika

Step 8: Add your secret weapons…smoked paprika and cumin.

chili in pot ready to serve

Step 9: Allow your pot to simmer well, so here’s the thing…I really didn’t time my pot, I did a great :45 minute workout and started to smell my chili cook and the top pot rattle…I figured it was about time 🙂 Next time I promise I’ll pay closer attention.

serve and enjoy (1)

Step 10: Serve and enjoy ! Told ya…easy peasy. You can choose to serve with cornbread or rice.

#BonAppetite

#<3JayTheFoodie

One response »

  1. I tried this recipe and absolutely loved it. The turkey was moist, flavorful, and tasty! For some reason my ground ground turkey comes out dry,will try with olive oil. Loved the smoked paprika! Thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

