Meatless Monday…Schezwan string beans !!!

Standard

Yesterday am in my meal prep I thought…I’ve done a lot of ‘American’ inspired meals and side dishes but I haven’t done any ‘Asian’ inspired meals. I remember when I was very young…like 5 or so my aunt took my cousin and I to Chinatown here in Washington DC to our very first authentic Chinese restaurant. We learned how to use chopsticks and we learned about different types of food and ways in which they could be cooked.

Now, my aunt in my personal opinion is a really good cook within her own right, so my cousin and I were really already familiar with the uses of a wock, sesame oil, various extracts, bean sprouts, sauteing garlic, uses of ginger, shittake mushrooms, duck, soy and hoison sauces, hot mustard, tofu and wasabi. My family wanted to make sure that at a young age my cousin and I were exposed to different methods of cooking and foods of various cultures. This way we were well versed in many of the meals we had seen and the methods in which they were prepared…steaming of rice, dry rubs, seasonings and spices.

I vaguely remember while at this restaurant I ordered string beans and they were apparently so good that I stood up on my seat and literally dropped the string beans down my throat 🙂 I hope I’m telling this story right because I obviously do not remember but I surely remember my aunt telling me about it.

So that little story was my inspiration behind today’s side dish or entree…Schezwan style string beans.

Here we go…

Ingredients-

1 bag of fresh string beans (cleaned well)

1 clove of garlic (sliced)

Mushrooms (5 thinly sliced)

1/2 of a red bell pepper minced

1 piece of ginger thinly sliced

1/2 a jalepeno (minced)

2 tablespoons of sesame oil

step 1

Step 1: Clean your string beans well. Cut off the tops and bottoms and slice in half.

step 2

Step 2: Slice your mushrooms and garlic.

step 3

Step 3: Slice your red bell pepper

step 4

Step 4: Slice your jalapeno in half and mince it well.

all contents in one container1

Step 5: Put your contents in a small container. While you’re allowing your ingredients to sit and breathe, then we move on to warming the wock.

sesame oil

pour oil in wock

Step 6: Heat your wock or skillet with two tablespoons of sesame oil

String beans in wock 1

Step 7: Allow your wock to heat up and then put your string beans in and allow to simmer a bit.

put in sides with beans

Step 8: Add your peppers, mushrooms and garlic.

add ingredients

Step 9: Simmer ingredients well for about :15-:20 minutes.

add your ginger

Step 10: Slice a few pieces of ginger.

add ginger to beans

Step 11: Add ginger to string bean mix and allow to simmer until string beans are al dente.

simmer well3

Step 12: Ensure everything is cooked well.

serve

Step 13: Serve by itself, as an entree or a side…I made a steak with mine 🙂

Yes, this is a Meatless Monday post, but I wanted to post it anyway. Since I made this for yesterday’s dinner…technically since I ate all the steak, this is a ‘Meatless Monday’ post.

#BonAppetite

#Enjoy

#JayTheFoodie ❤

Leave a Reply

