Meatless Mondays…yummmy fried green tomatoes

Standard

My first try at fried green tomatoes wasn’t too bad. I took a nice little trip to my grandma and uncle’s garden and picked up my weekly basil, thyme, oregano, jalapenos, rosemary, and tomatoes. Now mind you, I’ve never made fried green tomatoes before so I was slightly skeptical but I’m a foodie that cooks more so according to my taste and less to a recipe.

So, here’s what I came up with and they weren’t half bad…they weren’t B. Smith’s and I’m no Paula Dean… but they were pretty good if I do say so myself 🙂

Jay’s first try fried green tomatoes

Ingredients-
– 4 small green tomatoes
– 1 egg
– 1/4 cup of cornmeal
– 2 tablespoons of water
– Crushed red pepper flakes
– Sea Salt
– Cracked Black Pepper

Step 1-Cut tomatoes

Step 1: Wash your tomatoes well and slice them.

Add cornmeal

Crack an egg

Add 1 egg to your cornmeal

Step 2: Add your cornmeal to your bowl and then crack an egg.

 Add a dash or cracked black pepper, salt, crushed red pepper and garlic

Step 3: Add a few dashes of red pepper, salt, cracked black pepper and garlic powder to your egg and cornmeal mix.

So, I actually did a video here, but I can’t upload it..sorry guys. It was just me whisking my ingredients. 

Step 4: Whisk all your ingredients prior to adding your tomatoes.

 Add tomatoes to mix and turn on either side

 Step 5: Add tomatoes to your mixture.

Add 2 tablespoons to a skillet

Add tomatoes to frying pan

Turn on either side

Step 6: Add 2 tablespoons of olive oil to your skillet on medium heat and add tomatoes to pan once oil is hot. Monitor your tomatoes and turn them until golden brown on either side.

Line your plate with a papertowel and place tomatoes to drain

Step 7: Line a plate with a paper towel to absorb the excess oil, cool and serve.

Enjoy guys !!

❤ #JaytheFoodie

Leave a Reply

