Who wants porkchops !?!??!?!!?!?

Standard
Who wants porkchops !?!??!?!!?!?

I made fried porkchops for the very first time the other day…and they were delish ! I’m not a big porkchop fan but I had purchased them and didn’t want them to go bad. So, here’s what I did.

photo

Above is picture of my complete meal…porkchops, baked sweet potato fries with sea salt and parsley, and green beans and it was yum yum good. Here’s how I got started…

Ingredients-

1 large freezer bag

1/3 a container of Progresso Italian Bread Crumbs

Seasalt

Black pepper

2 tablespoons of all purpose flour

Crushed red pepper

1 teaspoon of granulated garlic

Ingredients

Step 1: Add all the ingredients above into a large freezer bag and add cleaned porkchops…I made 3 🙂

photo 1

Step 2: Once porkchops are coated well, add them to a frying pan with 1 inch & 1/2 of cooking oil. I didn’t have canola oil so I opted for light olive oil.

photo 2

Step 3: I couldn’t tell you how long I left the porkchops in the pan, but I allowed them to cook until they were cooked well and browned on either side.

photo 3

Step 4: After I cooked them well, I made sure I made sure I had a paper towel on a plate to absorb the remaining oil.

photo 4

From there ladies and gents…I made my veggies and sweet potato fries. Stay tuned for the fries in a separate post.

Note: I usually have health benefits associated with my meals, b/c I know folks want to ensure their meals are healthy. I will add the wonderful health benefits of the use of sweet potatoes, so be on the lookout for them in the next post, but the only real health benefit I can think to add to this particular post is about cooking with olive oil…take a look see.

Benefits of olive oil-

Cancer prevention has been one of the most active areas of olive oil research, and the jury is no longer out on the health benefits of olive oil with respect to cancer.

Anti-Inflammatory … It’s unusual to think about a culinary oil as an anti-inflammatory food. Plant oils are nearly 100% fat, and in a general dietary sense, they are typically classified as “added fats.” Intake of too much added dietary fat can be a problem for many reasons—including reasons involving unwanted inflammation. So it’s pretty remarkable to find a culinary oil that’s repeatedly been shown to have anti-inflammatory properties and provide health benefits in the area of unwanted inflammation. Yet that’s exactly the research track record that describes extra virgin olive oil.

Cardiovascular… In terms of antioxidant protection for our blood vessels, olive oil has been shown to lower risk of lipid peroxidation (oxygen damage to fat) in our bloodstream. Many of the fat-containing molecules in our blood—including molecules like LDL—need to be protected from oxygen damage. Oxygen damage to molecules like LDL significantly increases our risk of numerous cardiovascular diseases, including atherosclerosis. Protection of the LDL molecules in our blood from oxygen damage is a major benefit provided by olive oil and its polyphenols. Equally important is protection against oxygen damage to the cells that line our blood vessels. Once again, it’s the polyphenols in olive oil that have been shown to provide us with that protection.

Digestive Health…Studies on the Mediterranean Diet were an important part of this initial research on olive oil and the digestive tract. Protection of the lower digestive tract (for example, protection of the colon from colon cancer) is less well-documented in the olive oil research, even though there is some strongly supportive evidence from select laboratory animal studies. Many of these anti-cancer effects in the digestive tract were believed to depend on the polyphenols in olive oil and their antioxidant plus anti-inflammatory properties. One particular category of polyphenols, called secoiridoids, continues to be a focus in research on prevention of digestive tract cancers.

So, that was really quick and easy but I hope you enjoy !

#BonAppetite

<3thefoodieJay

Leave a Reply

