Creamy Cali-Mash !

Standard

So Cauliflower you say…hummm…

Some people don’t like cauliflower and that’s okay. But its really all is how its seasoned. Broccoli and Broccoli Rabe used to be my absolute fav growing up. I didn’t really like it fresh because it was a little too hard to chew, I never really carded for it from the take out restaurants but I loved frozen broccoli. I couldn’t really tell you why, but I did. It wasn’t until most recently did I try mashed cauliflower and I loved it. Its a very light/kinda taste and for those of you who love mashed potatoes you’ll like this because its not a potato but it’ll have you thinking it is 🙂

Here are some heath benefits that may want to make you try something new…I’m all about trying something new 🙂

  • It’s high in anti-oxidants! …
  • Cauliflower has anti-inflammatory properties – Due to its high vitamin K content, cauliflower helps to reduce inflammation. …
  • Fiber! …
  • Increased blood flow – Decrease chronic ailments such as atherosclerosis, a leading cause of heart attack and stroke.

Here’s a great recipe for mashed cauliflower….if you want a mashed potato kinda taste without the heavy carb feeling, try this ! Its a really easy and tasty recipe !

image1

Step 1: Start off with a head of cauliflower, make sure you clean it well.  Once you’ve removed the stalk like part from the bottom of the cauliflower, clean it really well. You can get rid of the brown spots (which is really dirt, believe it or not) with a carrot peeler.

image2

Step 2: Cut your cauliflower into bit size pieces, trying to remove the stalk like part.

image3

Step 3: Allow a pot of water to come to a rolling boil for :5-:10 minutes and cook well until cauliflower is very soft…soft enough to mash.

image4

Step 4: I didn’t have an electric mixer, so I had to mix the cauliflower by hand. I drained the water through a colander as best I could leaving as little water left in the pot. From there I put the cauliflower back in the pot and added a tablespoon of margarine. I then used my hand mixer and mashed the cauliflower as much as I could. Note, I did not use salt and pepper in this recipe. Believe it or not, its really good without and tastes JUST like mashed potatoes.

image5

Step 5: Serve and enjoy !

Its reaallly yummy too 🙂

Bon Appetite !

<3JaytheFoodie

Leave a Reply

