Lean green smoothie making machine

Standard

didyouknow

So…I’ve been gone for just a bit b/c I’ve been really focused on my fit goals and no that’s no excuse and I promise I will do better. Now that we’ve gotten that out the way I wanted to make today’s post all about my new thing…meal replacement smoothies. At first similar to the South Beach quiche idea I was completely not into it b/c I figured I wanted to eat GOOD…not well but GOOD. I wanted to savor every bit of my meal and have a sense of satisfaction when I did…well I did and that got me to a place where I was eating GOOD but not looking GOOD.

I have since come to realize that if I wanted to eat and look GOOD I needed to change my eating habits (which weren’t really bad) but I needed to eat BETTER. I decided to bite the bullet one day and head to the farmers market and purchase a bunch of fresh fruit and veggies and so I became a smoothie fanatic 🙂

Thus far I’ve been making smoothies every morning (weekends too) for 3 weeks now. It’s honestly one of the best decisions I’ve ever made with regard to my health. I’m not sluggish but I have energy in the morning and its easy peasy lemon squeezie !

Here’s one I made yesterday am…

thebeginning

Ingredients

(1) handful of mixed greens (I purchased this bag from Costco which consists of swiss chard, baby kale, and baby spinach)

(1) whole banana

(1/2) a handful of grapes

(1) table-spoon of Chobani yogurt (flavored: plain, vanilla or with honey)

(5) sliced strawberries

(1) kiwi sliced in 1/2

(1) 20 oz container of crushed ice

(1) shot glass worth of unsweetened green tea

Please note the pineapples are shown b/c my intent was to use them, but in the pic but below you’ll soon realize I didn’t have enough space…oh well.

Step 1: Place contents into your blender.

Step1

Step 2: Add green tea. (I didn’t have a clean shot glass, so I counted to 4 b/c I know that’s a shot worth) Little know facts about green tea: contains less caffeine than coffee, but enough to produce an effect. It also contains the amino acid L-theanine, which can work synergistically with caffeine to improve brain function.  Multiple studies show that green tea drinkers have a lower risk of various types of cancer. The catechins in green tea may inhibit the growth of bacteria and some viruses. This can lower the risk of infections and lead to improvements in dental health, a lower risk of caries and reduced bad breath…okay enough about green tea but you get the idea 🙂

Step2

Step 3: Add a dollop of yogurt

step3

Step 4: Blend well until smooth

step4

Step 5: Add ice and reblend

Step 6: Pour into bottle and enjoy 🙂

step5.

Yup it’s that easy.  Make your own creation and tell me all about it. Stay tuned for another blog post real real soon. #bonappetite

❤ Jaythefoodie

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

