A new spin…on an old favorite <3

Standard

 

Image

 

So my linesister and I have been really working hard at eating healthy. About 2 years ago we went to Florida for my birthday. In our timeshare we decided to get up and walk  a a few miles & drink our healthy smoothies and water and come back for turkey bacon or sausage and some veggie quiche cups.

I dunno about you, but when I think of the ‘South Beach diet’ I thought of recipes that in no way shape or form sounded desirable let alone appetizing…well I was was totally wrong. These mini quiche cups were great. With the perfect blend of veggies and Tabasco…you talk about good !!?!?! And with the turkey sausage or bacon it was just enough breakfast to leave you feeling full.

Below is the actual SB recipe and in parenthesis you’ll see how I put my spin on it

#bonappetite 

 

Vegetable Quiche Cups to Go

Ingredients
1 package (10 ounces) frozen chopped spinach (I used a mixed blend of swiss chard, spinach and baby kale)
3⁄4 cup liquid egg substitute
3⁄4 cup shredded reduced-fat cheese (5 cheese blend and extra sharp)
1⁄4 cup diced green bell peppers (I used red, green, yellow and orange)
1⁄4 cup diced onions (I added minced garlic)
3 drops hot-pepper sauce (optional) (This was a most definite for me)

                          *Note that no seasonings were used or added to this meal…no salt, pepper or extra spices.

Instructions
– Microwave the spinach for 2 1/2 minutes on high and drain the excess liquid. 
– Line a 12-cup muffin pan with foil baking cups. Spray the cups with cooking spray. 
– Combine the egg substitute , cheese, peppers, onions, and spinach in a bowl. Mix well. Divide evenly among the muffin cups. Bake at 350°F for 20 minutes, until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. 

I actually sauteed my green veggies, peppers, onions and garlic all together in a frying pan with light olive oil for :10-15 minutes until I could determine that  the veggies had been cooked well. I then transferred it from the frying pan to a bowl. Then poured my egg substitute into my veggie mix with a few dashes of Tabasco, mixed well and then evenly poured it into the baking cups which had been sprayed with cooking spray.

Quiche cups can be frozen and reheated in the microwave. Any combination of appropriate vegetables and reduced-fat cheeses may be used. 

Enjoy !!

Leave a Reply

