Super Green veggie stir-fry

Standard

Image

Good AM my foodies ! I’m back with another creation. Sorry its taken me a day to catch up, still trying to get a handle on this blog a day post thing 🙂 Going green took on a new twist with last evening’s meal !!!!!! In Bootcamp we’re given ‘Weekly food challenges’. We were instructed to do the following from the lovely ‘StayJay Fitness coaches’; Stacy Julian and Jeanette Chandler:

‘WEEKLY CHALLENGE: Think Green!
White carbs were out last week, right? This week, green foods are IN! With every meal, we want you eat a wholesome green vegetable or fruit.’

My new thing along my fitness and healthy eating journey is to try & be meatless at least 1x per week. Here the great #foodie has prepared a stir-fry all green meal consisting of onions, garlic, French style green beans, English peas, snow peas & sugar snap peas all lightly sauteed in coconut oil. This with a bottle of cold h20 was my meal after my big lunch today at work. I wasn’t suuuuper hungry for dinner but I did want a veggie. 

So here’s how I began:

  1. I sliced  1/2 of one medium sized Vidalia onions and  1 small clove of garlic..ever so carefully…even though I ended up crying.  SN: If anyone knows of a way I can slice onions without turning unto a crying mess, please share 🙂

Sliced onion and garlic

2. Rinse your Snow peas and Sugar snap peas really well under running cold water in a decent sized colander to ensure they’re clean but you want to use a colander with small wholes or slits to ensure you don’t loose your product in its cleaning process. Did you know: Sugar Snap peas are an excellent source of Vitamin C as well as a good source of iron and manganese ? Also Snow peas are extremely healthy to munch on due to the potent healthy nutrients in them that are nourishing to our bodies and protective of our health. The nutrients in snow peas are fiber, carbohydrates, protein, vitamins A and C, healthy fats, iron, potassium, magnesium, folic acid and antioxidants. These nutrients have the ability to relieve and prevent inflammation, cancers, eye diseases, scurvies, and digestive issues naturally.

Image

 

3. I used frozen English peas and frozen french style cut green beans, so I also placed them in a colander as well to let them ‘breathe’ after having taken them out of their packages. Some benefits of green peas are the reduction in the likeliness of developing heart disease and that they prevent constipation. Just one cup of peas contains 44% of your Vitamin K which can help keep healthy bones, and last but not least did you know although considered a vegetable, green peas really are a fruit since they contain seeds developed from a flower. #whoknew

Image

              Aren’t they pretty 

 

4. I then used my new favorite cooking oil I picked up at the Yes ! market. Just like ‘Frank’s Red Hot’ hotsauce… I wanna say ‘I use that ish on everything !!!’ According to Dr. Oz; ‘Studies have show that intake of coconut oil can help our bodies mount resistance to both viruses and bacteria that can cause illness. Even more, it also can help to fight off yeast, fungus and candida.’ I actually began using this brand of coconut oil earlier this week when I read a hair care blog on the benefits of coconut oil as body oil and a hot oil treatment for your hair. Getting back to the food and enough with the body oil & hair care aspect of coconut oil. So, I only used a teaspoon sized amount because as my mom and uncle often say ‘A dab will do ya !’ over a medium heat frying pan to saute the onions and garlic.

Image

 

5. I then pulled my staple seasonings out of my cabinet. With the fairly new Costco built close by I keep the cracked pepper, sea salt and crushed red pepper on deck. I use these almost in every meal. I added a few crack cracks (that’s what I call em) of sea salt and pepper to the onions and garlic in the medium heat pan and to add a little heat (as I usually do because I like my food a little spicy) a few dashes o the red pepper flakes.Sea salt and table salt have the same basic nutritional value, despite the fact that sea salt is often promoted as being healthier. 

ImageImage

 

6. Once I let the onions and garlic saute well, until they’re a golden brown I then added the peas and green beans to the frying pan.

Image

 

7. From there once the peas, green beans, onions and garlic cooked fairly well I then added the sugar snap peas and the snow peas.

Image

 

8. From there, you monitor your veggies every so often stirring occasionally with a wooden spoon, slotted spoon, or a slotted wooden spoon  to ensure they do not stick to the pan.  Looks pretty and green huh ?

Image

 

9. After monitoring your veggies after a while (let say about :5 minutes or so), you can take one of each out to taste to ensure they’re all cooked well. Generally when I stir fry or saute my veggies I prefer them to be a bit al dente. That way I feel I’ve gotten all the nutrients. In contrast to boiling water and placing the veggies in to cook, you’re going to lose vitamins and minerals in the cooking process, certain fruits and vegetables require cooking to unlock most of their nutritional power for the body to more readily absorb. 

Image

10. From there once the veggies were cooked to my liking, not soggy  and had been flavored well with the seasonings, onions and garlic I served them in a lovely red bowl for one 🙂

Image

11. To add a little added flair, I used a few dashes (2) of low sodium Kikkoman soy sauce. If I had Braggs Amino I would have used it and…ladies and gentlemen…voila ! Another quick dinner creation by yours truly. 

While I know this blog is entitled ‘A dinner a day with jay’ please note, I may or may not fix an entire meal during the week (entree including a meat, starch and a veggie) so last nights creation was just a side dish I turned into a meal. Please feel free to share or comment and stay tuned for more meals and healthy food tips !

#bonappetite  

 

Leave a Reply

